Hull City Council
You are here: Home > Council and democracy > Elections and voting > Electoral register > ...
Electoral register

Voting in the UK - eligible countries

You can register to vote if you are 16 years old or over and a British citizen or an Irish, qualifying Commonwealth or European Union citizen who is resident in the UK.

If you are 16 or 17, you can only register if you will be 18 within the lifetime of the electoral register. You cannot vote until you are 18.

Below is a full list of Commonwealth and European Union countries. If you are a citizen of one of these countries, and resident in the UK, you are eligible to register to vote in UK elections.

To qualify, Commonwealth citizens must be resident in the UK and either have leave to remain in the UK or not require such leave. The definition of a 'Commonwealth citizen' includes citizens of British Crown Dependencies and British Overseas Territories.

Citizens of the European Union (who are not Commonwealth citizens or Citizens of the Republic of Ireland) can vote in European and local elections in the UK, but are not able to vote in UK Parliamentary general elections or referendums.

European Union countries

Austria Latvia
Belgium Lithuania
Bulgaria Luxemburg
Croatia Malta
Cyprus Netherlands
Czech Republic Poland
Denmark Portugal
Estonia Romania
Finland Slovakia
France Slovenia
Germany Spain
Greece Sweden
Hungary United Kingdom



Commonwealth countries

Antigua and Barbuda Kiribati Seychelles
Australia Lesotho Sierra Leone
The Bahamas Malawi Singapore
Bangladesh Malaysia Solomon Islands
Barbados Maldives South Africa
Belize Malta* Sri Lanka
Botswana Mauritius Swaziland
Brunei Darussalam Mozambique Tonga
Cameroon Namibia Trinidad & Tobago
Canada Nauru Tuvalu
Cyprus* New Zealand Uganda
Dominica Nigeria United Kingdom
Fiji Islands** Pakistan United Republic of Tanzania
The Gambia Papua New Guinea Vanuatu
Grenada Rwanda Zambia
Guyana St Kitts & Nevis Zimbabwe**
India St Lucia
Jamaica St Vincent & The Grenadines
Kenya Samoa

*Although also EU member states, citizens of Cyprus and Malta are eligible to be registered to vote in respect of all elections held in the UK.
**Citizens of Fiji and Zimbabwe retain their voting rights despite the countries having been suspended from the Commonwealth.

British Overseas Territories

Anguilla Gibraltar
Bermuda Montserrat
British Antarctic Territory Pitcairn Island
British Indian Ocean Territory St Helena and dependencies (Ascension Island and Tristan da Cunha)
British Virgin Islands South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands
Cayman Islands Sovereign base areas on Cyprus
Falkland Islands Turks and Caicos Islands

British Crown Dependencies

Isle of Man
The Channel Islands (including Jersey, Guernsey, Sark, Alderney, Herm and the other inhabited Channel Islands)

Go back a pageBack  Go to top of pageTop  Print this pagePrint


The display of third party advertising on this site is not an endorsement or recommendation of any advertiser’s goods or services. The council accepts no responsibility for the accuracy of the advertisements nor the quality of the goods or services supplied.


Find my nearest...

Please enter your postcode

City of Culture logo
Visit the City of Culture 2017 website (link opens in a new window)

Hull City Council, Guildhall, Alfred Gelder Street, Hull, HU1 2AA

Sign up for council news and updates Subscribe to our RSS feedFind out about our Twitter profilesFind out about our Facebook pagesOur Flickr channelsYouTube channels

All Information © Hull City Council  2017