Hull City Council
You are here: Home > Council and democracy > News and social media > [ Press releases ]
News and social media
 Web links
Hull City Council twitter profile

Press releases

Our latest press releases are available below. To keep up to date with our latest press releases, follow our news feed on twitter or subscribe to our RSS feed.

Twitter logo Follow our news feed (@Hullccnews) on twitter (link opens in a new window)
Subscribe to our RSS news feed Subscribe to our RSS news feed

Media enquiries

If you are a member of the media and have a press enquiry, please contact the media relations office on 01482 615 166.

Press Releases

Nominations open for 10th Hull Youth Enterprise Awards 2018 - 21/06/18
Nominations are now open for the 10th Hull Youth Enterprise Awards 2018 that recognise Hull's enterprising schools and businesses that support the youth enterprise agenda in the city.

The awards, which are organised by Hull City Council in partnership with the Hull and East Riding Youth Enterprise Partnership, are in the following categories:

• The Maxwell Bird most enterprising school in Hull 2018
• The business that has done the most to promote an enterprise culture in the City 2018
• The Sheila Waudby Young Entrepreneur of the Year 2018
• The Kevin McNamara most Enterprising Teacher 2018
• The Jane Disbrey most Enterprising Student Award 2018
• Best Newcomer to the Youth Enterprise Agenda 2018

Special Awards

• The John Cracknell Youth Enterprise Award
• The Lee Creamer Youth Enterprise Leadership Award
• The Jack Brignall Youth Enterprise Award
• The Gordon Wilson Youth Enterprise Award
• Youth Enterprise Award 2018

The deadline for completed entry forms is Saturday 1 September. Judging will be completed by Sunday 30 September 2018. For an entry form, email

Winners will be invited to receive their award from international MicroBiz Champion Tony Robinson OBE and former BBC Apprentice Star Adam Corbally on Friday 18 November at KCOM Craven Park as part of Global Entrepreneurship Week.

Councillor Daren Hale, Deputy Leader of Hull City Council, said: "I look forward to welcoming the nominations for these awards from across the city as we look to develop Hull's entrepreneurial culture amongst our young people.

"The council, in partnership with the Hull and East Riding Youth Enterprise Partnership, is committed to supporting our enterprising young people and we are more than aware that the young people of this city are our future. We want them to move forward in life equipped with the right skills to build successful careers."

Nick Sangwin, MD of the Sangwin Group Chair of Global Entrepreneurship Week Planning Group, said: "As the chair of the Global Entrepreneurship Week Planning Group, I am pleased that this year the awards will go ahead thanks to the support of sponsors, from the John Cracknell Youth Enterprise Bank, the business community and Hull City Council.

"There is no doubt that Hull as a city has real commitment to developing the enterprising skills of young people. With the right support and encouragement Hull's young people are truly enterprising, and whilst not all will pursue an entrepreneurial career in the future, the majority of them will most certainly use their skills to help impact their outlook on life and in the workplace."

<< Back to Current Press Releases

Go back a pageBack  Go to top of pageTop  Print this pagePrint


The display of third party advertising on this site is not an endorsement or recommendation of any advertisers goods or services. The council accepts no responsibility for the accuracy of the advertisements nor the quality of the goods or services supplied.


Find my nearest...

Please enter your postcode

City of Culture logo
Visit the City of Culture 2017 website (link opens in a new window)

Hull City Council, Guildhall, Alfred Gelder Street, Hull, HU1 2AA

Sign up for council news and updates Subscribe to our RSS feedFind out about our Twitter profilesFind out about our Facebook pagesOur Flickr channelsYouTube channels

All Information © Hull City Council  2017